Lose It Big

From losing to living

Running with my Phone

I am one of the last people to switch to a “smart” phone.  I have talked about phones before.  I still believe phones should be used as that, as phones.  With that said, I have been relying on my phone to track my runs.  My past few runs my phone’s GPS failed.  One run was logged at something crazy like I was running 9 mph for 40 minutes.  Another said I burned 900 calories.  I knew both of these were false and made me hate my runs.  I was mad at my “smart” phone and it ruined (in my head) good morning runs.  I have been fine without this fancy technology for many, many, many years.  Now I am depending on it to tell me how fast, how long, how far, how many calories, etc.  Does it really matter?  I am doing the same thing I am just not able to see the numbers.   Well, I couldn’t give up on it.  This morning the GPS worked and I ran 6.2 miles in 50 minutes and burned 600 calories.  See…numbers…yeah!

That was enough bashing my phone for now.  I was able to figure out how to load music on my phone.  Now when I start Cardio Trainer my music starts and shuffles thru my songs.  I even get to hear Cardio Trainer tell me my numbers.  WOW, fancy.  Anyway it got me thinking of the different kinds of music I listen too.   Here is a list of my music that I have loaded:

  1. Neil Diamond
  2. Metallica
  3. Kenny Chesney
  4. Katy Perry
  5. Third Day
  6. MercyMe
  7. Miley Cyrus
  8. Zac Brown Band
  9. Eminem
  10. Trick Daddy
  11. Britney Spears
  12. Warren G
  13. Newsboys

Go ahead and make fun of me all you want.

Nothing beats running 6 miles before 5 AM, except running 6 miles behind an old car’s leaky exhaust fumes delivering papers while running side by side to stinky trash containers (trash day is Friday) and listening to music and my phone telling me how fast, how long, and how far.  Today is going to be great.

PS…on a side note many thoughts and prayers to the people in Colorado that wanted to see a movie…mean people suck.

5 responses to “Running with my Phone

  1. loseitbig July 20, 2012 at 9:02 am

    How can I forget…Jimmy Buffett is on my phone too

  2. Misty July 20, 2012 at 9:08 am

    LOL I love seeing Warren G added in there lol I still haven’t converted to a smart phone so I am still behind you lol.

  3. roundtoravishing July 23, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    That is one eclectic mix! Love it!
    You have been nominated! Check it out here: http://roundtoravishing.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/life-is-great-and-so-are-you/
    Have a great day!

  4. L @ Trying Not to be Fat July 27, 2012 at 11:27 pm

    My GPS has been crap lately and literally stopped working. What I’ve been doing now is just timing my walks outside. Then I roughly calculate how far I went, and get my average mph out of it. It’s crazy and too much work but I’m weird like that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

