Lose It Big

From losing to living

Bras

Just because I care and I get all sorts of emails, I thought I would share my knowledge or lack of with you.  I received this email from BlueMile.  BlueMile is a runners’/walkers’ store.  They just happen to be having a bra sale this weekend.  Anyway, I don’t really need a bra but they did pass along some info whether you agree or disagree this is what they along with Moving Comfort said:

Just like your shoes, it’s important for women to take special care of her bras, as the properties that provide support and comfort deteriorate over time. The average life of your sports bra is about 6-12 months, depending on care and amount of use. Here are a few tips for caring for your sports bras from our friends at Moving Comfort:

While sports bras are machine washable, these guidelines will give your sports bra a longer life:

• Fasten the hooks before tossing them in the machine

• Hang dry. Dryers wear down the fabric and moisture management properties

• If you do use the dryer, do not use fabric softeners or sheets

• A sports bra should be replaced every 6-12 months. If you can’t read the care label anymore, it’s time for an update

At BlueMile, we specialize in helping women of all shapes and sizes find the right bra, and we believe we have a size for just about everyone! Hope to see you this weekend!

Now some questions or observations from a guy.  Do sports bras really have hooks?  I use liquid fabric softener.  Should I not use that when I wash them (but they smell so good)?   Only 6 months?  I have clothes (socks and underwear included) that are older than 10 years.  I just thought I would pass this along to you.  I am not right but, in my defense, I have never claimed to be.

18 responses to “Bras

  1. erinHasThoughts August 15, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    omg this is hilarious!! to answer your questions: I don’t have any sports bras with hooks, but I have seen them before in my life. (I think those are for the reallllllly busty gals ;) ). I think liquid softener is probably fine. If you’re worried about smell though I highly recommend Tide Plus Febreze Sport….smells wicked good. Finally….6 months. OK, I probably shouldnt admit this, but I think i still have some sports bras from high school…which is going on a decade. I mean my philosophy on the sports bra situation is as long as it still holds everything in place, its good to go. haha

  2. lethalastronaut August 15, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    Uh, maybe I’m weird here but I don’t wear sports bras. I wear those tanks with a built in shelf bra. They fit better, you’re not constantly adjusting them, and they look better too. Sure there’s a bit of gratuitous nipple display from time to time, but frankly, I don’t give a rats. Men can get over it. Or not ;)

    Saying that, I’m also not HUGE up there, so I think it depends on size. Like, if you’re ginormous you probably need a proper sports bra. Most of the time when I’m not in gym clothes I don’t even wear a bra. I’m convinced that bras actually make you get saggier as you age, because you’re not “training” the skin, tendons etc to self-support. And I remember reading that bra wearing is related to a higher risk of breast cancer, but I’m darned if I could remember the source.

  3. yourtruthdiet August 16, 2012 at 8:22 am

    Yeah, I always fasten the hooks. With Sports bras I may wash them by hand and let them air dry. I’m old school I guess, but they also last longer that way. Sometimes I put all of my bras in an old pillow case, tie it up and throw them in the wash to keep from being stretched and tangled up during the cycle. IAnything to save a buck because those suckas can get expensive. Especially when the girls are a size D or larger.

    • loseitbig August 16, 2012 at 8:30 am

      Yes, I have a mesh type bag that I wash my wife’s regulars in. I suppose I need to fasten them but, I never learned how to fasten, only unfasten…lol. Her sports bras (no fasteners) get thrown in the wash with everything else…I do try to let them air dry, if I remember.

  4. L @ Trying Not to be Fat August 16, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    No hooks. I wear one of those pull over super elastic sports bra. I will replace it only when it either disintegrates or i shrink to the point that its no longer supportive.

  5. Anna August 16, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    I got hooks on some but not on others. It`s easier to change in and out of them if they have hooks (they are not necessarily for super busty girls) but otherwise there are the super elastic ones of course and those are easy to slip in and out of too. My oldest ones are definitely older than a year but don`t show serious signs of ageing. I do hand wash mostly with soap or a sports-wash detergent stuff. I always air dry them.
    Regular bras I will hand wash if delicate or throw into one of those bags or sometimes a little ball designed to hold them inside (no idea what they are called) to wash and then hang-dry.

  6. Real Fit Mom August 23, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    Never seen a sports bra with hooks. I toss mine in the washer and dryer along with everything else (yes, I wash towels with sheets, socks, clothes and the occasional Barbie pants or Bratz shoe). I’ve had one sports bra for about 9 years and the other for 4 (and only because I had to buy a neon pink one for my dance recital). Mine will last forever because I don’t wear them that often…….because I don’t exercise that often. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

