Lose It Big

From losing to living

Fast Humpday

Where to begin? I started loseitbig as a way to log my progress through my relatively short competition to lose more weight than others at work. I didn’t know how addicting this could be. Reading others’ journeys, struggles, as well as successes, have made me want to do a little more here. I am not very graphical or creative so, I doubt I will have fancy pictures of my food or workouts or anything else for that matter. Well I guess I have the self-taken pictures of me. Have a look at my Progress page. Please feel free to critic my pictures positive and negative. I am a big boy I can handle it. What I hope to blog about are topics that have popped up along my journey of getting healthy. So, instead of one entry a week I hope to get a few more.

Wednesdays are my fast days. The reason I chose Wednesday is because my wife takes my 3 kids on a play date on Wednesday evenings. That leaves me alone to fend for myself. So, I choose not to eat also meaning no dirty dishes (I hate dishes). I read almost nonstop. When I read, like my hearing, it is selective. So, sometimes I stop reading after I read what I want. I read an article in Men’s Health magazine about having a fast Thursday. I stopped reading. It has to be good if it is in a “health” magazine, right? I read that fasting every once in a while untrains the body how it uses stored energy. I didn’t read the cons of it but, I figured I would try it out. It’s not too bad. I drink tons of water and green tea on this day. The only time that I miss the food is when I take my vitamins. About 15 minutes after swallowing, I feel nauseous. That feeling goes away after 30 minutes. I think that is enough of my randomness. I don’t want to make these very long. Our minutes are too precious to spend reading this.

5 responses to “Fast Humpday

  1. Two Moms April 4, 2012 at 10:55 am

    I have become addicted as well. I have also read about fasting and I read that it is good to do a daily fast. You should go 16 hours with no food. So if your last meal is at 8pm then you should not eat again until noon the next day. This essentially untrains the body the same way but you still get food every day. My last meal is usually around 7pm and then I dont eat again until 11am the next day. So far it seems fine for me. Just thought I would add my two cents. LOL

  2. loseitbig April 4, 2012 at 11:02 am

    I am weird. Sometimes I do things just to see if I can do them. Kind of like touching a red hot iron. Yes, I know it is hot but, can it really be that hot? Thanks for your 2 cents. I am getting rich.

  3. dachaney April 24, 2012 at 11:28 am

    I’m trying to figure out if fasting a day a week is “for me”. How are your fast days going? Do you still work out after a fast day- and have you seen/felt a difference that you can link back to fasting?

    I’m honestly not sure if I can cut out food for a day- I’ve been looking at “juicing” as well, just to help me get out of my rut I seem to be in. I’m thinking that maybe some kind of extreme diet day, might help jump start the losing process again, but I’m curious about the process before I just get myself into it.

    Do you end up hungry at all on those days? Have you noticed an increase or decrease in energy? Any bad side effects? What are you doing now, when you get hungry on those days (if you still do it)?

    Thanks for your input 🙂

    • loseitbig April 24, 2012 at 11:52 am

      I am wired a little differently I guess. When I am committed to something, I do everything in my power (that I have control over) to commit to it. When I do my fast days I know I am going to at some point feel hungry. I guess it’s my mind over matter and I will go and get a drink of water or of some green tea. That does the trick for me. As long as I am not thinking of eating, it is easy for me to fast. That being said I make sure I stay active. I try to cut my grass or do anything outside of my house. Yes, I still do exercise with no problems. I was kind of worried last week. I did my two exercise sessions but, I had no problems getting through it. I have not been any more or any less tired these days. The only small side effect I have is after I take my vitamins, my stomach feels a bit queasy. So, I drink some water. That feeling lasts about 30 minutes. To be honest, I am not sure if I am receiving any benefits of this either besides seeing the scale drop about 3 or 4 numbers the following morning. The following day the numbers come back up and I am not pigging out either. It’s just my body getting back to normal. I have lost a few pounds in the past couple of months but I am doing a lot more than just fasting. I am guessing it’s the synergistic effect of everything. I hope I didn’t bore you too much and if you have any other questions feel free to give me a shout.

Leave a Reply

