Lose It Big

From losing to living

Fast Wednesday

Today, I OD on water and green tea.  Throughout this competition, I have picked Wednesdays to fast.  Not sure why but, I read in an article that a fast every now and then will help re-train the body how to use its stored fuel.  I thought it would be harder than it is but, really it doesn’t bother me as long as I stay busy.  As a bonus it’s nice to see the scale on Thursday morning.  It doesn’t stay at that number once I start eating again.

My normal workouts have been alternating long runs (50-60 minutes) with some sort of total body, upper body, or core circuit and follow that with a 20 minute run.  Last night I decided I will start the Shaun T Insanity Workout.  My wife has started them and gave me the quick steps to begin it.  I am not sure how the Insanity Workout works but, it starts with a Fit Test.  This gives you a baseline.  Then you take the test again every 2 weeks and hope to see your numbers improve.  Here are my numbers:

  1. Switch Kick – 113 – I think this was a bad count (should be lower).  I was not kicking high enough.
  2. Power Jack  – 52
  3. Power Knees – 61
  4. Power Jump – 33
  5. Globe Jumps -10
  6. Suicide Jumps – 15
  7. Pushup Jacks – 23
  8. Low Plank Obliques -32

I was really sweating after this 30 minute Fit Test.  I have a feeling I may die after I do the real workouts.  I still plan on running at lunch for 30 to 60 minutes and then doing this when the kids go to bed at night.   My ultimate goal of this is to try to get some definition/toning in my body.  I am weird I will try anything once or a lot more.

13 responses to “Fast Wednesday

  1. erinhasthoughts April 18, 2012 at 10:22 am

    I’m about to start p90x May 1! I’m pumped, but a little scared too!!

    • loseitbig April 18, 2012 at 10:27 am

      It is definitely going to be fun. My problem is I have no coordination. I can barely walk and chew gum. I should video myself doing this. My wife shouldn’t be the only one that gets to laugh at me.

  2. Reed April 18, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    What article did you read on fasting? And how do you keep yourself from hogging down on everything in sight once the fast is over? I tried it once, but it ended badly–at the bottom of a bag of Hershey’s Bliss.

  3. projectwhitespace April 18, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    ooooh you are fasting–I am really impressed. I have IBS, so fasting for me only happens once in a blue moon, though I’ve also heard its good for you. I get seriously sick (vomitting) when I fast. If I want to fast, I have to mentally and emotionally prepare myself and my day (yes, keeping very busy helps) to be successful at it.

    • loseitbig April 18, 2012 at 12:26 pm

      If I were at home, there is no way I could stay away from my kids’ treats. The only time I have a sick feeling is after I take my vitamins. That feeling goes away after 30 minutes or so.

  4. loseitbig April 18, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    It was an article in a Men’s Health magazine. As long as I can stay busy and out of the kitchen, it has been ok.

  5. martha84 April 18, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    Switching things up constantly is the best way to go, and trying new things often has definitely fueled my weight loss journey! Sounds like you’re well on your way!

  6. roundtoravishing April 18, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    I hear Insanity is … for lack of better words, insane, but works. I’ll be following your progress, I’ll need to start something new after Pump.

  7. L @ Trying Not to be Fat April 18, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    Fasts are good even just to give your digestive system a rest. We’re not meant to be eating constantly! We’re supposed to be living in the woods and foraging, eating what we can find!

    I was planning on picking a fasting day too, but I’m thinking a weekend works best because I have to keep tasting food while I’m at work.

  8. Two Moms April 18, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    WOW your brave. LOL I have the P90X and I didnt make it past the warm up session. 🙂 I need more strength training first.

Leave a Reply

