Lose It Big

From losing to living

Riddle These Nuts

I did what you are not supposed to do.  I went grocery shopping when I was hungry.  I picked up a bag of soy nuts.  They tasted pretty good to me.  The nutrition looks very awesome.  I know almonds are supposed to be a healthy snack (in moderation).  I am asking for some help from all of the smarter people out here.

Why don’t soy nuts get any love when almonds take all the glory?

Don’t get me wrong, I like almonds and all nuts but, I have rarely heard anything pro or con about soy nuts.  Help me out.

Dry Roasted Salted Soy Nuts
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 3 tbsp (28.3 g)
Amount Per Serving
Calories 140
Calories from Fat 63
Total Fat 7.0g
Saturated Fat 1.0g
Trans Fat 0.0g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 90mg
Total Carbohydrates 10.0g
Dietary Fiber 5.0g
Protein 10.0g
Vitamin A 2% • Vitamin C 2%
Calcium 4% • Iron 6%
* Based on a 2000 calorie diet
Dry Roasted Salted Almonds
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 1 oz (22 whole kernels) (28.3 g)
Amount Per Serving
Calories 169
Calories from Fat 135
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.6g
Monounsaturated Fat 9.5g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 96mg
Total Carbohydrates 5.5g
Dietary Fiber 3.3g
Sugars 1.4g
Protein 6.3g
Vitamin A 0% • Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 8% • Iron 7%
* Based on a 2000 calorie diet
15 responses to “Riddle These Nuts

  1. roundtoravishing April 19, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    Check this article out, it will answer your question 🙂
    http://www.livestrong.com/article/492633-comparison-of-soy-nuts-almonds/
    Basically both are good, but almonds have more fat.

  2. healthyfrenchie April 19, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    Here is my humble opinion:
    All nuts are good for you. It’s just one of those food trend thing. Almonds are taking all the glory at the moment! 8 Walnuts provide you with all the omega3 you need for the day, Brazil nuts countain a ton of selenium etc..
    The salted ones aren’t very good for your bload pressure thoguh, it’s always better to have them “au naturel”
    Hope this help!

  3. Cassy April 19, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    Soy has become one of those things that is really cheap to get, and has been processed and broken down a lot to the point that it actually doesn’t work so well with your body…so I mean a lot of the foods you are eating, have soy in them some how, some way… and too much of anything can be a bad thing. :p So basically you can blame all processed food companies for breaking down soy to the point that it isn’t healthy anymore for the reason why Soy gets a bad rep.

  4. Reed April 19, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    Soy – phytoestrogen – don’t eat.

    • loseitbig April 19, 2012 at 9:14 pm

      Can you explain a little more. I read somewhere that phytoestrogen acts like estrogen but doesn’t do anything to the estrogen levels. I have no clue about either. I get my education from the web and these blogs.

      • Reed April 20, 2012 at 7:31 am

        It mimics estrogen in the body. Bad for boys as it feminizes them. Bad for girls because it upsets their hormone balance. I know that’s a very simplistic explanation, but it would take forever to go into the details of it all. It’d be way easier for you to Google it. There’s a ton of information about why soy is not the thing to be eating. The fact that people with breast cancer are told to avoid it like the plague is enough for me to stay away, but if you need something more scientific than web articles and personal accounts, I’m not the girl to be asking either. After all, I’m a SAHM, not a doctor.

  5. Carla April 19, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    I have done very well with eating nuts at least 5 days a week! I eat a mix of unsalted dry roasted nuts such as brazil, cashews, almonds, walnuts etc. Nuts help with weight loss because they are highly nutritious and they make you feel full. I also read just the other day that 55-75% of the calories in nuts are not even absorbed by our body!

  6. L @ Trying Not to be Fat April 19, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    I’ve had the roasted soy before, I don’t like the texture.

  7. loseitbig April 20, 2012 at 9:30 am

    Thanks for all of your great feedback and comments. After a few hours this morning researching about soy I have come to the conclusion as with everything else…moderation. This is one of those things that if you search for positives of soy you find tons of articles saying great things about soy. If you search for negatives about soy you find tons of articles why it’s bad. I guess it is all about what you want to believe and I believe all nuts have there pros and cons and the pros win out if eaten in moderation.

  8. tomorrowhasarrived May 3, 2012 at 1:05 pm

    In addition to what Reed stated about soy mimicking estrogen in the body another key point with almonds is while they have a higher fat content it is the right kind of fat. Monounsaturated fats (MUFAs) lower total cholesterol and LDL cholesterol (the bad cholesterol) while increasing HDL cholesterol (the good cholesterol). Nuts including peanuts, walnuts, almonds and pistachios, avocado, canola and olive oil are high in MUFAs. MUFAs have also been found to help in weight loss, particularly body fat. Polyunsaturated fats also lower total cholesterol and LDL cholesterol. Omega 3 fatty acids belong to this group. They are also high in magnesium, which studies have shown help reduce chocolate cravings.

    • loseitbig May 3, 2012 at 1:19 pm

      Thanks for the info and stopping in to check out my goofy ramblings. I like almonds and all of the good fats that go with it. I was just curious about the make up of soy nuts and if they had any of the same type of benefits.

      • tomorrowhasarrived May 3, 2012 at 1:26 pm

        Soy contains high amounts of the Polyunsaturated fats and from what I’ve read, you’d have to consume quite a bit of soy on a daily basis for it throw your estrogen levels enough to cause harm in a healthy individual.

Leave a Reply

