Lose It Big

From losing to living

Not so Fast

Yesterday was my fast day. I have written about it before. I have no clue if it is helping but, I know according to the pounds on the scales it isn’t hurting. I am doing a lot of other stuff along with my one day of fasting like exercising and eating healthy (to an extreme). I got home from work yesterday and turned on The Doctors. They answered a question about fasting a day after eating all sorts of bad food and if that was good for you. They answered that of course it is not good for you. That when you eat the bad food it breaks down into your bloodstream as Trans fats, the bad cholesterol, yada, yada, yada. Don’t forget I have a very selective attention span and I am no doctor. Then when you fast your mitochondria, your “cellular power plants” do not get the memo to run at full speed and slow down. This leaves all of those bad Trans fats and bad cholesterol stuck in your blood until they start building up making dams in the vessels. I know this just doesn’t happen in one day and it’s not even that simple but easy enough for this dumb guy to understand. For me my fasting isn’t due to the bad eating. It’s due because I read it once. I know when you stop feeding your body a lot of its processes slow done. I want my metabolism to keep going. In order to keep my metabolism up at its highest I need to feed my muscles. Muscles burn a lot more calories than fat. So, to keep my muscles happy, I need to feed them protein.

If anyone is still here reading this, are you asleep? Long story short. After watching The Doctors and exercising, I had a protein shake. I think next week instead of doing a total fast, I will have a few protein shakes just to feed my muscles. Will it do anything different? I have no clue but, I am just a daily experiment.

8 responses to “Not so Fast

  1. Cassy April 26, 2012 at 9:40 am

    I haven’t commented about the whole fasting thing but it really scares me when people do it… Food is a fuel for your metabolism, your mind, and your body. Nothing more than that. When you starve yourself, you are actually telling your body that there is absolutely no food around and therefore it goes into starvation mode. The first thing the body starts breaking down are your muscles because that takes calories to maintain (and as far as your body knows there is no feed around to eat) and then starts storing fat… so when you do start eating again, all that food instantly gets stored and it takes a lot longer to burn it off. I am not a doctor either… but I know it really messes with the chemicals in your body when you aren’t giving it the fuel to work with. But trust me, it is not operating on fat when you are fasting.

    • loseitbig April 26, 2012 at 10:02 am

      I have always known what you have said and have agreed with it. This was just something I decided to try after reading about it in a magazine. It’s not as a replacement for the right food and proportions and exercise. It’s actually me just seeing if I could do it. Kind of like me not drinking alcohol for 12 weeks…I am going to do that too.

  2. yourtruthdiet April 26, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    I thought about fasting if giving up gluten for a couple of weeks didn’t make me feel better. I just felt that my body needed a break from working too hard to process the junk because even though I cut back on eating so much junk food, my body still felt like it wasn’t processing food too well. The gluten-free diet is working so far.

  3. Eve April 26, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    I saw that episode too and it totally changed my mind about fasting. Glad you at least had some shakes 🙂

  4. Reed April 26, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    Your blog just made me choose an extra 5 mile run tonight instead of fasting tomorrow. Thanks. If only I would’ve steered clear of Red Robin this afternoon…

  5. Reed April 26, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    I had the cajun clucks and fries, along with the mountain high mud pie. The latter I shared with my three cubbies, so I don’t have to count too many calories from that. But I would gladly have shared the rest with you. I certainely didn’t need it all. I just finished putting in 7 miles of penance, in addition to the 5 I did this morning. Still, I’m sure that didn’t cover my cheating for the day. I feel so guilty!!! Ugh!

  6. L @ Trying Not to be Fat April 27, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    1: Don’t trust everything you see on tv, especially the Dr’s and Dr.Oz. Because they are paid by companies/sponsors to say certain things. And a lot of it is so much BS. I want to yell at the tv every time I see Dr.Oz on at the gym.

    2: You have to do more research than “I heard it here, and now I don’t because I heard it here”

    3: Sorry for the tough love, lol. I don’t fast! But only because I’d be so hungry. I’m all for simple detoxes though, which are like less harsh versions of fasting. Not eating wheat/meat or dairy. Easy on the digestive system, still eating food.

Leave a Reply

