Lose It Big

From losing to living

Weekend Binge

During my time with this Biggest Loser Competition, I learned a few things about myself and others as well. When I started I was overweight from inactivity that comes with wintertime and a shoulder surgery. Both of these excuses lead me to be lazy and eat just about anything in the house. I was always thinking I will get “healthy” tomorrow. Then the Biggest Loser came along. Tomorrow started as soon as the competition started.

I have always known the right foods to eat. I just don’t always eat them. It seems like everyone from yahoo to men’s health have easy ways to lose pounds by just eating this and not that. My problem was I rarely ate the stuff they say not to eat. To be honest I rarely ate the stuff they say to switch it too. For example, eat a grilled chicken sandwich instead of a cheeseburger sandwich. I know that would save calories but, it wouldn’t save calories if I were eating a grilled chicken with fresh veges already. I know the concept is a great one but it really didn’t work for me. It has worked for some of my competitors. They simply started eating 6-inch subways sandwiches and chips and were able to lose weight. I would gain on that diet. I had to find something that I could give up. That was alcohol for me. Captain and Diet Coke went on hiatus.

I remember the first few weeks the urge to just have a few jelly beans, a marshmallow, or pretzels. At the time I did have a just a few. As time went on, the urges for those things left. In the back of my mind, I may have been thinking I am in a competition don’t eat that. Actually, I think I was enjoying how I was feeling when I didn’t have that junk in my body. I really put that to test over the week end. After my last weigh in I went on a binge. Everything I ate, pizza, jelly beans, chocolate, beer, and chips all tasted great but made me feel blah and tired. I was falling asleep on the couch Sunday after noon. I had no energy but, I had plenty of food energy in my body. It just wasn’t the healthy food.

I am not sure if this rambling is even saying what I am trying to say. At first, I was sick from not having all of the junk food I wanted. At the end, I was sick from eating all of the junk food that I wanted.

I am still in the process of putting up my progress page with before and after pictures. I am heading to Florida in about a month so, with no competition pushing me, I will lean on this blog to stay the course.

11 responses to “Weekend Binge

  1. erinHasThoughts May 14, 2012 at 10:44 am

    So true! I feel the same way about food. I rarely eat the “dont eat this food” too, so for me it’s like what gives!? I”ve been working with someone lately to help fine tune my own diet to make sure I’m giving myself the right amounts of everything. I keep an extremely detailed food journal and I email it to my “trainer” every sunday. She gives me feedback, which is really helpful because it’s easy to get caught up. For instance, yesterday I emailed it to her and she got back to me shortly after saying YOU’RE NOT EATING ENOUGH!! my first thought was “i’m not eating enough!? I’m trying to lose weight!” but i kept reading her email. Because i’m in my mid 20s and I’m extremely active (i work out on my work by doing p90x everyday, plus I run a few days a week, and on top of that I coach track, where i run with the kids, 4 days week). She explained for someone like me, counting protein is way more important than counting calories. Makes sense, but sheesh! this is all a lot of work! LOL

    Oh, and PS, I too, would gain weight if I ate a 6 inch grinder and bag of chips everyday for lunch. How Jared lost all that weight on that diet still boggles my mind!!

    • loseitbig May 14, 2012 at 11:27 am

      I am glad someone else sees the eat this not that a bit lacking.

      • erinHasThoughts May 14, 2012 at 3:15 pm

        I feel like ESPECIALLY in a health magazine like Men’s Health, or SELF, they should put more stuff like “if you are doing this workout you should eat this” or give useful tips like how much protein and carbs a person needs a day to loose weight…its more than just all about calories!! I feel like everyone is always so concerned about calories (which yes, of course does help you lose weight) but if thats the only thing you’re worried about, you’re definitely not getting a rounded diet and when you stop “dieting” you’ll put it all back on…probably 2x faster than you took it off!!

  2. L @ Trying Not to be Fat May 14, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    I find I react to junk food differently now too, it really does make you feel poor. And my stomach HATES it now!! I’ve also noticed how I feel when I don’t workout. Just lethargic and sluggish, a little depressed maybe. It’s a good change, but a surprisingly noticeable difference.

    A part of me finds it frustrating, because when I do indulge, I’m generally doing it to try and get some sort of release or joy out of it, and the food no longer provides that! I wish my brain would finally realize it.

  3. roundtoravishing May 14, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    The eat this and not that wouldn’t of worked for me either. Lets replace a bad food with another food that just isn’t as bad. Sure, that will work for someone who doesn’t live on drive thru (note sarcasm) my idea of junk food now is fancy cheese and eating a couple ounces more than I should have. Or apples and Nuttella, or quinoa trail mix balls. Way different from when I wanted junk I wanted a cupcake. Leaning proper portions I think was the best thing for me.

  4. Katie May 14, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    Glad the jelly beans did not win!! Someone showed me an article several months ago that summarized research that showed that someone who was 150 pounds but used to be 200, had to eat less calories than someone that was always 150, to maintain. Maybe that is why the magazine stuff doesn’t seem to work??

  5. yourtruthdiet May 14, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    It is very good to see this post because this is a perfect example of how one plan does not fit all. When I hear that someone has given up because they have tried everything in the book it just makes me wonder if they’ve tried long enough or are simply trying something that seems to work for EVERYONE else. People have to listen to their own body and figure out what’s helpful for their particular situation. Great post! Have fun in Florida!

  6. joyfitnessandstyle May 14, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    Well, you don’t have that competition anymore, but you can always create new goals for yourself to keep you on track. Train for an event? A place? A new sport? Just throwin’ it out there. You are so funny and would love to read a new adventure from you! Have a great time in Florida!!

Leave a Reply

