Lose It Big

From losing to living

Morning Workouts

I have switched up my workouts a little bit, actually, a lot a bit. I was running every day during lunch and then doing Insanity in the evenings when I got home from work. I have found that sense I am not heavily committed to the Biggest Loser Competition at work I have lost the desire to work out in the evenings when I am tired. To fix this I have started to get “Insane” in the morning and then lift weights at lunch. I still have the urge to run so, I am running on Wednesdays and on the weekends.

With that being said I have entered my 2nd month of Insanity. It is an hour long video of a lot of exercises that I struggle to do. I have to wake up at 4:00 AM to make sure I still have time to shower and dress before work. At around 2:00 PM, I do my weight lifting at work. I believe Insanity is a lot of cardio, a lot of lower body, and some whole and core body exercise. Right now I have set up my weight lifting to biceps, triceps, shoulders, and chest. I know there are other body parts but, this is what I am trying out right now.

Switching when I exercise has brought some pros and cons of the schedule. The pros for getting started early in the morning is that I get it done and out of the way. As long as I can get my lazy butt out of bed, I won’t have any excuses not to do Insanity. This gives me time to do my daily chore of laundry in the evenings. I have 3 kids so yes it is daily. This also frees up the much needed spring/summer evening yard work time. Now on the flip side, since I am not going to exercise at night, I have found it easier to eat/snack while doing these other chores. Eating is my downfall. I really like food and I think I eat just because I can. Exercising makes me thirsty not hungry. This is just my thoughts on this new schedule. When do you like to exercise? Do you see pros or cons when you do exercise?

On a side note, I mentioned in an earlier post that I lacked a camera phone and nor did I text. For Mother’s Day, I bought my wife a smart phone. I had to get one too (I couldn’t let her out do me). So, what that means is that I have no excuse not to post pictures of my food or of my unscenic running routes. I may not know how to get them from my phone to these posts but I will work on that too. And feel free to text me…I might be able to figure out what the heck my phone is buzzing about. Smart phones don’t make their owners smart.

13 responses to “Morning Workouts

  1. roundtoravishing May 22, 2012 at 10:36 am

    Welcome to technology! LOL. You will catch on and figure the smart phone stuff out quicker than you think. I am a smartphone junkie. So if you have questions let me know!
    Good luck with your new workout schedule. Sounds like it will be quite a bit more convenient for you. And if you feel the need for a snack during chores, every so often grab a few almonds or an apple, A low cal good for you snack isn’t bad. Other times, drink a glass of water. Works for me.
    I am still trying to transition to the mornings, but have been lazy about it because I have so much yard work to do it may kill me.

  2. erinHasThoughts May 22, 2012 at 10:39 am

    Hey!! That’s awesome that you switched up your workouts instead of just quitting because you were bored! Good for you! I betcha you’ll lose some more weight right off the bat from switching it up and confusing your muscles. On sunday I did a 5 mile run, and went right into my p90x and ab workout right after…took about 2.5 hours and it was awesome. I WISH i had time to do that everyday, but unfortunately, I don’t. Usually I have to split up my workout to before work and lunch time like you and I don’t really mind doing that too much…the one downfall is that i HATE (serious emphasis on the word HATE) showering 2 times a day….SO ANNOYING! other than that though, its nice for person like me (who sits at a desk all day) to get up and moving 2 (or 3 Mon-Thurs when I also coach track and run with the kids) a day.

    Keep up the great work…and congrats on the new smart phone! WELCOME TO 2012! I highly recommend the “RunKeeper” or “MapMyRun” app! You can run with your phone and it tracks where you went, how far, your mile split times, etc. They also give you the option to get your workout emailed to you if you want to see it on the computer. Additionally, I have the p90x app where I can log my nutrition and workouts…since Insanity is also a product of BeachBody, I bet there is an insanity app that works similarly.

  3. Cassy May 22, 2012 at 10:46 am

    Phew. Just reading your work out schedule kinda makes me feel tired! I still don’t even know how you were managing it before! And then with kids and doing chores! You are an inspiration. And yay smartphone! You will figure it out! I email the pictures to myself, and then save the pictures on my computer. =)

  4. joyfitnessandstyle May 22, 2012 at 11:06 am

    That is soo funny! I have to admit, I only beat you by a couple months with the smart phone stuff. I’m still figuring it out!! I was just looking at your workout routine, make sure you do back rows too with your upper body routine. Balance the front and the back of the body. If you even want my 2 cents. 🙂

  5. Katie May 22, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    Trying the AM workouts. It can be brutal, especially with juicing. Some days I just walk from room to room doing a Zumba shake or Salsa step. Funny and pitiful but it is now past my bedtime since I have to wake up at 4. Here’s hoping the snooze button doesn’t win tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

