Lose It Big

From losing to living

Flashlight Running

You just don’t know how lucky people are that live outside of Eastern Time zone are until you get to try it out for a week.  This all has to do with the goofy TV shows I am hooked on.  When I was in Florida, all of the new shows aired at the latest 9:00 pm (some even 8:00).  I am talking about the really good shows like Storage Wars, Deadliest Catch, Swamp People, Call of The Wildman, Ice Road Truckers, and Duck Dynasty.   These are the only things worth watching on TV.  Anyway they are on an hour earlier in Florida than they are In Indiana.  That is nice because at about 9:30 I turn into a log.  Don’t get me started on how awesome it would be to live on the West Coast during football season with games all day long.  Anyway, I miss those great shows just so I can get up and run in the morning.  No I don’t have a DVR.  I just like complaining.

I get up at 4:00 am, put on the clothes that I set out the night before, strap on my phone, watch, and mp3 player (no  music on my phone…it’s smart but I guess not that smart).  Then I grab a flashlight from the kitchen junk drawer (everyone has one and it might be called a junk drawer too) before hitting the dark streets.   I know I have to be back by 5:00 to get ready for work and the kids off to daycare.   That means I usually have anywhere from 30 minutes to 50 minutes to run.  Not many people, if any, are out during my run.  Actually, the lights in the houses are still off.  Of course I am looking in the windows while I am running.  Just kidding, this is when it’s important to watch the pot holes in the road.  I think my little flashlight shines just enough to cast big shadows to make the holes look like craters but, that just adds to the thrill of the run.  This morning I ran 4.16 miles in about 35 minutes.  Two cars actually passed me so I made sure to wave my flashlight around.  Getting hit by a car isn’t a thrill I would like.

Flashlight Track (See the lack of Photoshop skills)

Also, I finally bought new shoes.  I went to Blue Mile and had a gait analysis.  I am not quite sure what this did except make me feel guilty if I didn’t buy some overly priced shoes.  I had to run on a tread mill for about 15 seconds and they filmed my lower legs and how they hit.  They said I hit straight up and down so, I guess that is good.  In a way it was kind of like going to the dentist when you were a kid.  I had to do my procedure then I went over and picked out my prize.  The prize was a pair of Brooks.  First time I have owned a pair of Brooks.  I don’t even know the model or style name.  They felt comfy and I get to try them out for 30 days to make sure I am happy with them.

New Shoes

It’s pitch black outside. No one would see me even if I were wearing nothing. But the shoes reflect light.

 

10 responses to “Flashlight Running

  1. joyfitnessandstyle June 26, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    That was really smart of you to get your gait analysis checked and some new kicks! I bet you are faster now too! 🙂 BTW, I watch Storage Wars with my husband – fun show!

  2. Two Moms June 26, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    That is so early to be running. Good for you for making the commitment. That is awesome. The gait analysis was very informative so that is good to know how you run. Nice shoes and I cant wait to see you in some spandex. hehehe

  3. Enter, Fitness! June 28, 2012 at 4:05 am

    my kind of TV lineup. Deadliest Catch, The Pitch, Whale Wars, Tuna wars, Real Housewives…

    Also noting that I live in the West Coast and 2-miles from Chargers Stadium.

    i did the shoes video thing and my prize was Asics Gel Nimbus. LOVE them but with more than 400-miles on them I save them for races and run in my old adidis on the tread.

    Love the shorts — very trending right now… for rappers!

Leave a Reply

