Lose It Big

From losing to living

MyFitnessPal

Even during my Biggest Loser Competition I never counted calories.  I thought it would be interesting to finally find out how many calories I consume.  So, my plan for the next month is to track my food using MyFitnessPal.  It’s a pretty neat app for my Android phone and free.  I like the fact I can scan a barcode and all of the info gets pre-loaded.  I am lazy and that helps a ton.  Another thing that helps is my wife is also starting to use it.  Now when we eat dinner, I can copy all of her info.  I would never take the time to measure out serving size but, she does (told you I am lazy).  My breakfast and lunch are pretty easy because they are the same thing every day.  My breakfast is oatmeal with banana crème protein powder and cinnamon.  My lunch  is always a spinach salad, with cottage cheese, tuna, hot sauce or hot peppers, and balsamic vinaigrette.  Soon I will be adding my home grown tomatoes.  For dessert it’s Greek yogurt.  Three snacks in the day.   I have fruit, a protein shake, and some almonds.  That is my standard fare during work.  Now the weekends may get a little complicated but, I will figure it out when that gets here.

Like I said, I never counted calories but I always read the label.  Some of the serving sizes on the label are a bit misleading so when I scan something in myfitnesspal I have to check the serving size.  For instance, my salad dressing is for 2 tablespoons and the bottle has 6 servings in it.  This same bottle I have been using for 3 weeks.  (3 X 5 = 15).  I guess I don’t use 2 tablespoons but, I have plenty of dressing on each salad.  I eat sunflower seeds on my way home from work.  There is a science to putting a handful in the side of your mouth cracking open one at a time and filling up a solo cup with the soggy shell (at least it isn’t chewing tobacco).  Anyway, the label on the bag says it has approximately 3 servings in it.  I am into my 3rd week on the same bag.  Then there are some food labels with serving sizes so small that would starve a mouse trying to feed off of it.  I guess that is the main reason I never really counted calories.

The exercise part of myfitnesspal is decent if you are only trying to figure calories spent from a cardio activity.  I didn’t read all of the directions so; some of this is my fault.  In the initial set up myfitnesspal asked how long I exercise.  This really means cardio exercise.  I lift weights for an hour. I know I have to burn some calories doing that but myfitnesspal didn’t calculate a number for calories spent for that.  That is no big deal.  It was just something that I found. I guess entering it in just helps with the diary.

This morning I had a short run of 3.7 miles in 31 minutes.  I wanted to give my legs a rest because I am going to try to run 10 to 15 miles tomorrow morning.  I am undecided if I want to run straight out on a road for half then turn around for the second half.  My only problem with that is what if I need a drink half-way thru.  I didn’t really want to run in the same circles over and over again.  Decisions, decisions!

7 responses to “MyFitnessPal

  1. Two Moms July 3, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    I have been using myfitnesspal since January and I love it. The exercise portion is a bit misleading since it just takes a rough extimate of your meaurments but its better then nothing. I use a HRM to keep track of all the calories I burn. This is great with weights. Way to go! Look me up – spendsitwell 🙂

  2. curvyelvie July 3, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    I love my apps they are so uselful!

  3. onederlandreflections July 3, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    Hahaha, I love fitness pal AND I do the same sunflower seed trick and it probably takes me just as long to eat a bag. We’re kindred spirits, I’d say. =)

  4. Brianna July 6, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    I used to use MyFitnessPal and it was pretty cool. Got tiring though, entering in things like a homemade sandwich – I found myself literally entering in multiple things. Like, 2 slices bread, 1 tbs mayo, 1.4 of a small tomato, 1 slice cheese, etc etc. Premade or packaged stuff was much easier. Didn’t know you could scan barcodes though! Pretty cool. Anyway, sounds you’re doing good – despite your self declared laziness ;). It is a lot of work to put so much thought into one’s diet, but it has a great reward. I also found using MyFitnessPal helpful just in that it made me see how quickly calories add up. Even though I haven’t been using it lately, my understanding of proportion relative to calorie count has stayed with me.

    • loseitbig July 6, 2012 at 10:02 pm

      Exactly! there are a few short cuts but I usually throw things together at home…that is why i thank my wife for measuring all of the hard stuff…i don’t care if i eat 1/8 of a cup of Broccoli or 1/4 of a cup…to me it’s all good so calories shouldn’t matter

Leave a Reply

