Lose It Big

From losing to living

Long Run

Yesterday morning I went on a long run.  Left a note to anyone that wanted to read it that said I will be back in 2 hours.  A big decision I had to make was how to run.  I could stay in a few subdivisions and run a few large circles or I could stay on one road and just run out for an hour and then turn around and run back for an hour.  I don’t trust anyone, especially early morning traffic battling the sun.  That being said, I needed to stick with a road running north and south.  All of this decision making just for a run.  I have a problem.  I ended up running the north-south road.  I had never run it before and wanted to see how far I would get in an hour.  When I started at 6:30 am, it was already 80 degrees and humid.  I did take a bottle of water with me.  I ended up running 45 minutes out.  The way back took me about 55 minutes.  Must have been the wind.  Just kidding.  I was dead tired and slowed way down coming back.  When I was close to being home I slowed to check on my distance.  While I was checking, a lady dressed in short black shorts and a black sports bra passed me.  What better motivation to pick up my speed and follow her (hehe).  At that point I had run 8.5 miles.  I wasn’t stopping until I hit 10 miles.  My normal speed actually caught up to her within a half mile.  I didn’t want to freak her out (some old man with sweat soaked clothes sneaking up from behind) so, I decided to turn and run through a neighborhood.  In the end I ran 10.5 miles in 100 minutes.

I was still able to function completely normal after too.  I did yard work before going to my mom’s to celebrate her birthday.  I meant to get up this morning and run.  I didn’t make my 4:00 am run.  It wasn’t because I was sore and my legs were not tired.  I just lost my motivation this am.  What would you think is better?

  1. Running a two day total miles in one day and skipping a day,   OR
  2. Running everyday
9 responses to “Long Run

  1. Two Moms July 5, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    Nice job. I personally run 3-4 times a week and then cross train and do weights 2 days and then take 1-2 day as rest days. You need to give your muscles time to repair. Take at least 1 day off for rest if not 2.
    Nice job on the run. That is awesome!

  2. Anna July 5, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    I don`t run every day because I believe in the necessary rest.
    I love how the woman in black was a motivation! I get those, too. Especially when I run in more crowded places. I won`t be the one looking like I`m suffering after two minutes of running in the heat when someone else who clearly ran 90 minutes already passes me fast. I do think that clothes/looks in general have an impact on this. Not only “dress to impress” but also a kind of “impress the dressed” (?). Not making sense here.

    • loseitbig July 5, 2012 at 4:13 pm

      Not just a woman but, one wearing about as much clothing as a swim suit. She looked the part of a runner. I have been looking for someone to run with. I let a good opportunity slip away. I am not sure I can find someone to run with me at 4 in the morning but I think someone to go to races would be fun and make me add more races.

      • Anna July 5, 2012 at 4:24 pm

        I had one opportunity, too. Then that specific fast male opportunity decided to run 20km away from the usual spot and instead do incredible mountain runs for hours on end. He was an ultra-marathoner. Well. I`ve had people stop me mid-run to ask if I`d like to run with them. I found that a little creepy, though, to be honest.
        Crossing my fingers for you to find a motivating running-buddy!

  3. L @ Trying Not to be Fat July 5, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    I like having someone there to motivate, even if it’s a complete stranger.

  4. joyfitnessandstyle July 5, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    I agree with 2 moms, recover is important too. I’m still trying to get past your comment of 80 degrees and humid at 6:30am!? We don’t have that weather in the NW – ever. You must drink so much water throughout the day – that is NUTS!

Leave a Reply

