Lose It Big

From losing to living

Different Topics

I started my lonely blog as a way to chronologically track my progress  in my Biggest Loser Competition.  On those lines it worked to help keep me motivated.  I mean I was posting half naked pictures of myself for the whole world to see, as if the world cared about my blog.  Anyway, I am done with the competition and I did end up winning $170 which is more than enough to take all of my great followers out to lunch.  Maybe I just made that up and all the money is gone now.  My last weigh-in recorded me at 131 pounds.  I hadn’t seen the 130’s in…actually I was probably in middle school or starting high school and I never weighed myself so, I am not sure I had EVER seen that number.

Using my scale’s fat percentage number as a reference, I went from 22 % to 12 % body fat.  I was doing about 2 hours’ worth of cardio every day and restricting my food intake probably to an unhealthy level but, like I said all along, it’s a competition not a lifestyle change.  During the competition, I learned of healthy lifestyle changes and now I am adjusting my learnings to my everyday health.

Now I have added a weight training to replace one of my cardio trainings.  And since I have a fancy phone I have been able to log my runs using an app called CardioTrainer.  In less than a month I have run over 100 miles.  I have also put on 10 pounds of muscle.

I used this picture earlier. It’s about 2 weeks after the Biggest Loser Competition.

Actually, it’s not 10 pounds of muscle.  It is that I am now hydrated with a little bit of muscle added.  My weight now fluctuates between 142 and 144 pounds at 14-15% body fat.    I think it’s a head thing.  I want to cut weight but, still gain muscle.  I am eating quite a bit of protein to help gain muscle.  I am also taking Creatine, a naturally amino acid found in muscles.  I am not expert on that but it helps give muscles potential to grow.  This supplemented creatine causes extra fluid so; it’s not uncommon to gain 4-6 pounds in a week.

This is what I am doing now.  I am TRYING to eat clean but, I love junk food.  I am also going to try out a 100 pushup challenge with my oldest son.   So, my posts will differ a little by not so much me posting about my weight loss and progress to more of my weird or plain daily life.

One more thing…I ate my first tomato from my garden yesterday.

My Garden

It doesn’t look like this anymore. They plants are about 6 feet now.

9 responses to “Different Topics

  1. Two Moms July 12, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    Losing weight healthy is the best way to do it. Keep up the good work. It really is a lifestyle change.

  2. Anna July 12, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    I don`t like tomatoes and I don`t know what weights in pounds mean (yeah, I could totally look it up, I know), but I wanted to say congratulations on the effort and the results! You are doing great!

  3. dayinthelifeofahappy40plussouthtxstayathomewife July 12, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    Congrats! We started a small garden in large pots a little late. But the cucmbers and tomatoes have blooms. Still waiting on the bell peppers and serrano peppers…

  4. L @ Trying Not to be Fat July 12, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    Jealous on the tomatoes!! Mine aren’t even close. We’re growing some naga jolokia (ghost peppers) from seed too.

  5. Elle July 16, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    Congrats! All that hard work does pay off! You look great!

  6. ichoosetolivestronger August 15, 2012 at 9:57 am

    Just linked over from a blog I daily follow. I’m addicted to the Biggest Loser show..currently watching old seasons on Netflix…one episode every day of my long journey to get healthier and stronger…yes a lot of weight to lose…57 gone and 93 more to shed. No time to read anymore now, but plan on reading your archives later today of your journey. Congrats on your progress. I’m doing strength training with my cardio so the skin doesn’t sag…no surgeries for me! Hope you stay strong and healthy.

    • loseitbig August 15, 2012 at 10:08 am

      Sorry you had to see this post then…lol. My losing is pretty much over. Now I am trying to maintain so to speak. Captain Morgan seams to have his way with me though. Just a warning. But hopefully you will still get to laugh a little. I have always said if you can’t laugh at yourself, you have no right to laugh at others.

Leave a Reply

