Lose It Big

From losing to living

Races

OK. After a few posts dealing with bras and boobs, hopefully I am back to normal (but I have never been normal). I posted about my first 10K race earlier. I am excited about that and also a little nervous. What do I wear? Funny, I am nervous about what to wear to a race. As some know, I run early in the morning before, the sun wakes up. So, my clothes do not really matter. No one can see me and I wanted feel more like a runner so, I have been donning spandex or compression shorts. I would never wear these in public. With these on there is no way of hiding what I don’t have if you get the visual. On top of this, it might be a little chilly at the start of the race (you know things happen in the cold) another negative. However, I have kind of grown to like the support these shorts offer. So, I guess I am asking for some help. Do guys wear spandex shorts at races? Should I swallow what little (hehe) pride I have and wear them because they are comfy and I have been training in them? Should I not look the part as a runner and put basketball shorts over the compression shorts?

Now onto some more exciting news. One of my early, early goals was to run some races. Well it has taken me nine months to get one scheduled. I want to run some races with other people. Sometimes running solo is boring. Not so much the running part but the driving to and from the races and talking about the interesting stuff that happened during the race. For instance when I ran my Half Marathon, I didn’t have anyone to share my experience of running passed the lines of people at the port-o-potties and into the woods to relieve myself. You would have been amazed at everyone I met while in the woods. I guess many of us, men and women, didn’t want to wait in line. I digress, sorry. Anyway, my wife says to me are you going to run the Wine at the Line race with me. Unknown to me she was invited by some of her girlfriends. I told her that I wanted to but I thought it was just the girls. She had told them that I wanted to run that race and they open the invite to me. Supposedly, I am to be their driver. I am in. My plan run fast, drink fast before they get back and then watch them get drink on crushed fermented grapes. Another friend of hers wants us to do the Drumstick Dash on Thanksgiving. No runs for half of the year and now three over the next three months. I am excited. Now the only drawback to this is that we need to find someone to watch our kids. As long as we find a babysitter, I will not have to run solo. I get to run with my wife. See I told you this is exciting.

Sorry for the long winded post with out pictures(BOO!). And please help me out with any suggestions on the shorts thing I mentioned way above.

24 responses to “Races

  1. kristyshealthrevolution August 21, 2012 at 9:44 am

    I have the same problem with being bored of running races alone. The last race I ran was in my hometown, I ran to the race, and then the second I was done I just ran right home because I didn’t have anyone to sit around and stretch with/talk to until the awards were given out. I need running friends!

  2. Anna August 21, 2012 at 11:58 am

    Wear the spandex, I`ll babysit. No, really, so many runners wear spandex and you trained and ran many miles, why not show this side of yours and be proud of showing off the “runner side” instead of the: yeah, I play basketball once a month and run around the field and now I want to race side.
    I would take some running friends too by the way. I`m slowly working on it.

    • loseitbig August 21, 2012 at 12:07 pm

      I will take you up on your baby sitting offer. I hope you can find time to travel to the States…hehe. Thanks for your input.

      • Anna August 21, 2012 at 1:33 pm

        If you pay for the flight I`ll be there within the next 12 hours. I miss what used to be “home” – lived in the DC area for 7 years.

  3. One Fit Mama August 21, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    Running shorts over the tighties – you have worked really hard to get in shape – be proud!!! And way to go!

    • loseitbig August 21, 2012 at 2:54 pm

      Thanks. I am proud. I didn’t want people laughing at me. I may have to get some running shorts then I would be covered. I bet my shirt will cover me anyway. I am probably nervous for nothing.

  4. erinHasThoughts August 21, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    totally wear what you train in! thats a runner’s number one rule. otherwise, on race day you will psyche yourself out and if you don’t do as well as you would have liked to have you’ll blame it on your basketball shorts….lol well, blaming on the bb shorts may not be far off from the truth of the problem. Also, as someone who has been running in races for the past 17 years, trust me, you dont want to be one of those guys running in basketball shorts…people will make fun of you. and if you’re lucky, it will be behind your back. you’re a RUNNER!! If you’re feeling really self conscious I recommend the running shorts over the spanks (like One Fit Mama said). You can also just wear running shorts alone though since they have built in undies!

    PS – the Wine at the Line race sounds AMAZING! I wish that one would come to CT! The only thing we have even remotely like that around here is a case race…and that involves less running and more drinking! hehe.

    • loseitbig August 21, 2012 at 2:50 pm

      Awesome feedback. What if I set world records while wearing the basketball shorts…see my psyche might work just the opposite…half full. Just kidding. I was hoping to get responses from people that have had multiple races and know what others wear. Thanks

  5. Dani Cee August 21, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    Definitely go with the basketball shorts on top – as someone who has run in a few races – I’m not gonna lie…. my friends and I definitely think it’s a little less than flattering for men to be so “on display” in spandex shorts. Or, you could get some of those runner’s wind shorts designed with the spandex built in like underwear….hope that is helpful! Either way – rock the race and best wishes for success!

    • loseitbig August 21, 2012 at 4:27 pm

      Thanks for the honest comment. I would not be flattering anyone with what I would not have to display wearing spandex.

      • Dani Cee August 21, 2012 at 4:31 pm

        LOL – I don’t think it has anything to do with you, personally – you have worked hard to achieve a great physique! …I’m saying, the general consensus is NO man should wear spandex without lose shorts on top.

      • loseitbig August 21, 2012 at 4:36 pm

        Thanks. I know what you are saying. That is why I said I would never be caught wearing them in public. I appreciate the honesty…I really don’t want to be one of “those guys”.

  6. Two Moms August 21, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    Run in what you train in for sure! Many guys were spandex during races. Some (okay most) are not flattering but hey its a sport and its not about looks its (okay who am I kidding here – its is about looks and I always get a good laugh out of what some people where – but still) LOL I can guarentee you will not be the only one in spandex. Also that is great that your wife is going to run with you. YAY!!! I completely agree that it is so nice to find other runners to talk with on the way there and back. It is an exciting time and its nice to have others to enjoy it with. I am sure you guys will do awesome.

  7. L @ Trying Not to be Fat August 21, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    I am going to bring boobs back into it. Tape up your nipples when you run so you don’t get that horrible runner chafe/bleeding like many do. See picture: http://tinyurl.com/8f8qskw

  8. Lindsay* August 21, 2012 at 7:01 pm

    I agree with most people that you should run in what you train in. I’m no expert, but you don’t want to risk uncomfortable chafing on race day just because you wanted to ‘look cool’. And many runners wear spandex – almost my entire running group consists of men in spandex (and that’s at 6pm on busy city streets!)

  9. Real Fit Mom August 23, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    I know I’m late chiming in but I’d go with the shorts over the spandex. You want to be comfortable, physically and mentally, when you take on this big adventure. Good luck!

  10. Eating at my Desk August 30, 2012 at 6:00 pm

    Yes, wear the shoes you are used to running in — nothing worse than a surprise on the big race day– blisters, discomfort…

  11. Eating at my Desk August 30, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    I totally agree about running races with other people. I don’t necessarily want to run WITH them and compete with them during the race — we can catch up at the finish line but absolutely, as an experienced solo runner, the hardest parts are not getting to, or meeting up before the race with someone and worse is the finish. Nobody there to woo-hoo you when crossing the line is so exciting. Nobody to meet you in the beer garden and nobody to cruise the expo with. Woe is the singular runner…

  12. Eating at my Desk August 30, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    shorts OVER spandex. Period.

Leave a Reply

