Lose It Big

From losing to living

Phone App Vs Watch

First off, thanks to all of my great friends that commented on my race dilemma. Still not exactly sure what I will wear. Hopefully, I will figure it out by September 15 or I may not be wearing anything (ewww!).

I guess my title is an Applications Developer. That means I sit on my keester and peck away on a computer all day. You would think being a computer programmer that I would be a tech geek. I am far from that. Actually I am anti-technology. I wish we could all go back in time before we had all of these things that made our lives “easier”. That isn’t the point here. This is me at work:

Office Space

 

It’s kind of hard to see but, this is me in my cubicle looking at two monitors (actually I stare out the window). Can you see the little mirror? I like seeing who is walking up behind me so I put a small mirror between the monitors. I also, wear headphones all day. Sometimes with music or sports radio and other times nothing at all. It’s just a way to detour people from trying to have a conversation with me. After writing this, I am realizing I am not a geek I am just plain weird. The picture shows some tweets that just happened to pop in at the same time I took the picture. I guess that brings me around to what I was going to talk about.

I like twitter. I don’t post much. I am a huge football (American) fan so, I follow mostly news people that are tend to talk about football or sports. Now back to my easing into technology. I found out my phone app called CardioTrainer if linked to my twitter will tweet the results of my run. Here it is from this morning:

@kwasson123: just ran 6.5 mi in 50 mins 13 secs on 8/23/12 at 4:16 AM #cardiotrainer

WOW…technology. I am trying. Feel free to follow me @kwasson123.

I am not good at tweeting because I am too long winded or worded (see this post). The main purpose of this post is to ask for some help. Another new (at least to me) piece of technology is a watch that is linked up to a heart rate band thingy. So, after my run this AM, the CardioTrainer logged me at burning 720 Calories but, my watch said 354 Kcal. I am kind of dumb so, I need help from all of you smart people. Which one is right? Here is a little more info about me to help you help me. I am 40 years old and 143 pounds. During my run my heart was beating on average 160 beats per minute (says my watch). I ran for 50 minutes. How many calories did I burn? Should I go with my watch or with the CardioTrainer?

P.S.  I hope my Florida readers are safe and ready for anything that Isaac may bring.

15 responses to “Phone App Vs Watch

  1. dachaney August 23, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    I love the mirror idea 🙂

  2. Anna August 23, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    I would go with the watch, since it`s hooked up to that HR monitor, or none. Any third opinion? I don`t really know, honestly.
    I just wanted to say that I always wear headphones too. Especially when out in town or shopping (more like looking around), so that sales assistants don`t disturb me. I don`t want to talk, if I need something I will ask. That is, mostly because I don`t understand Hungarian anyways. In English, I wouldn`t mind as much.

    • loseitbig August 23, 2012 at 4:29 pm

      I guess I am confused how it can be that far off. I have a cheap watch I was thinking maybe it just doesn’t calculate it correctly. I have even found web sites where I plug the bpm, my age, weight, amount of time and it’s numbers are closer to the app’s numbers. I thought it was the Kcal thing but, from what I have read Kcal is really what a Calorie is.

      • Anna August 24, 2012 at 8:49 am

        In that case, I would probably trust the app. But yes, you usually only read KCal, which would be x1000 (according to logic) of what you were “allowed to eat” (for example) in calories.

  3. daisy August 23, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    I would go with the Heart Rate Monitor / watch. It’s actually measuring your heart rate as you’re running, and presumably you had to enter all your personal details in it too – height, weight, etc. The one on cardio trainer would just be an estimate based on the average person doing that distance, but you’re obviously much fitter than the average! PS I’m a geek too.. I’m not a programmer (even though I studied it) but I work for a software dev company doing technical consulting 🙂

  4. roundtoravishing August 26, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    You tweet to harass me! LOL

    Also, headphones and mirror thing is not weird. Coworker chumminess is annoying in an office setting. And makes it hard to get things done.

  5. Katherine August 27, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    Twitter is a great way to stay in touch with other people and use it to see where others are in their goals as well.

    By the way, Thanks for following =]

  6. nikki8a August 27, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    I like your mirror idea, I will have to do this!

  7. thunder2toned August 28, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    Unfortunately can’t help with the fitness math but just wanted to call out you’re not the only double monitor, headphone geek. I find it very effective, even with std headphones on lots of people assume I’m in a conf call and keep on walking 😉

  8. Eating at my Desk August 30, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    Go with the HRM ONLY. The others; cardio monitors and online calculators are algorithm cookie cutters and since you’re a geek, you should know what mean or help me to know what I mean. Read my post too on this topic; sort of., at http://enterfitness.wordpress.com/2012/08/29/fit-challenge-day-3/

    I contacted the company Freemotion fitness on this very subject, too. Read this:

    Hi Lisa,

    Thank you so much for your post and question. The easy answer is they both are probably a bit off and with all due respect to our equipment I would lean toward trusting your polar watch over the algorithm on the incline trainer. It is just an algorithm and while they are probably similar the polar will be more advanced and more consistent. I hope this answers your question and again I greatly appreciate your post and commitment to the incline trainer.

  9. Theresa September 9, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    I work in IT as a project manager but I am considered a computer geek. I also have the mirror, only it doubles as a makeup mirror, and my headphones are the full headset noise cancelling headphones. The irony is that prior to this position I was a VP in sales- so I enjoy the time working undistirbed 🙂

Leave a Reply

