Lose It Big

From losing to living

First Race

I did it!!  I ran my first 10 K race.  So, I guess I have a new PR.  I am not sure if it’s a new one or just one because I never had an official one before.  I run about 6 miles every morning so the distance wasn’t new.  I was really nervous when I arrived at the race site.  It was cold and I had no idea what I was doing.  Registration started at 6:30 am for the 8:00 race time.  I didn’t know how many people were going to be there.  So, I opted to get there about 6:45.  It turned out they were not quite ready but I was able to pick up my packet, shirt and water bottle.  I went back to me car pinned on my bib and let my nerves stew for another half hour.

Before the race

We were getting ready to start the race and the temperature was still chili about 50 degrees.  Another runner asked me about the course and I told him I had no idea but, my plan was to follow the guy with no shirt on.  I figured if a guy is running with no shirt in 50 degree weather this isn’t his first race.  I kept up with him for a little while and always had him in sight but his pace is a lot faster than mine.  Here is a picture of me after the race with the host of the race, Tatum.  As I mentioned before, she started a foundation called Tatum’s Bags of Fun.  She gives bags full of goodies to kids that have cancer.  She made a big impact on me and my niece whose picture is proudly displayed on my chest.

With Tatum after the race

So, my time for the 10 K was 45:40.  I came in 16th place overall and 5th place in my group.  The great thing was I was able to get home in time to see all of my kids ball games.  It was a great Saturday.

12 responses to “First Race

  1. Urban Running Girl September 17, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    Congrats on your race. Super time!

  2. Jackie September 17, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    Congrats on your first race!!

  3. One Fit Mama September 17, 2012 at 8:05 pm

    Congrats!!! Way to go! Awesome! Fantastic! Wonderful! Woot! Woot!

  4. ichoosetolivestronger September 17, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    That is a big race and you placed great! Sounds like a great cause. I’m unable to run/jog because of arthritis but I would like to walk another 5k sometime this year. Congrats!

  5. Two Moms September 17, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    Way to go! So super proud of you and you had an awesome time. I love the concept of running with the guy with no shirt. LOL That is so funny. It is still almost 90 degrees here so I have no idea about running in the cold. You did great!

  6. daisy September 17, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Nice one!! great time.

  7. Lindsay* September 17, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    congrats on your first race! They are addicting 🙂

  8. Kari September 18, 2012 at 9:30 am

    wow! that is brilliant work there man! I can’t wait to start racing myself..still working on it 🙂 well done

  9. Anna September 18, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    45:40 is awesome! Congrats on that time! Also, congratulations on a first 10K! My first one is in two weeks but it’s just part of another long run. I want to go sub 1 hour.
    So, I see you really didn’t choose the spandex, were there many men in spandex? Maybe next time you’ll be ready to rock them! 😉

  10. Eating at my Desk September 19, 2012 at 11:58 am

    CONGRATULATIONS! You now have a “baseline” record so you will have to run again to get a PR. Tatum is adorable and so you. How impressive she organized this!!

    Thank you for not wearing the spandex!

Leave a Reply

