Lose It Big

From losing to living

Skinny People Habits

I follow Men’s Health Fitness ‏@MHFitter on twitter.  In a tweet they linked to an article by By David Zinczenko with Matt Goulding called 20 Habits Skinny People Live By.  You can go there to get all the specifics but I thought I would write my little victories on each of the habits if have one.

 1: Eat an early dinner – I always eat early because I am always hungry and I don’t like waiting in line if I go out to eat.

2: Weigh yourself daily – there is a scale on the floor where I hang my towel.  Post shower ritual.

3: Eat a boring diet – WOW this is me.  The same thing for breakfast and lunch every day. Oatmeal with protein powder, spinach salad, cottage cheese, tuna, tomatoes, and Greek yogurt

4: Reward yourself – I think I reward myself a little too much.

5: Read diet and exercise tips – I am constantly reading these. I follow a bunch on twitter and read many blogs.

6: Eat breakfast – yep Oatmeal and protein powder…sometimes eggs on the weekend

7: Take snack breaks – you should see my desk…apple and a red bell pepper right now

8: Drink water – People think I am doing something else in the bathroom but 120 oz. of water has to go somewhere.

9: Order a la carte – OK…I lose.  This must be why I am not skinny.  But in my defense I rarely go out so, when I do it’s more like my reward (#4) and I am not doing a la cart.

10: Choose whole grains – I am constantly reading labels for 100% whole grain as the first thing listed in the ingredient list.

11: Eat spicy food – this is usually one of my snacks.  I make my own salsa and try to make it supper hot.  I eat this on everything.  I posted about this.

12: Sleep for 6 to 8 hours each night – I hit this even when I get up at 4:00am.

13: Manage stress – I am pretty good with this.  Except when new things come up like kettlebells but, I don’t freak out about it.

14: Take the stairs – It’s a long way up to the 600 level of the Colts’ games.

15: Chew thoroughly – I have never really thought about this.  I have never choked so; I guess I chew up everything.

16: Walk after meals – we try to do this with the kids on their bikes or we are off to practices.

17: Keep healthy food on hand – easy at work a little more difficult at home but popcorn and yogurt are always with in my reach.

18: Learn to take a joke – I have to laugh and if it is at the expense of something that has happened to me the better.  Nothing better than being able to laugh at yourself.

19: Eat protein – the first thing I look at on labels is the amount of protein.

20: Avoid dinner distractions – I get so upset when anyone has their iPod or phone at the table.

 

If it weren’t for number 9 (ordering a la cart), I would be skinny.  At least I have something to work on.  Go check out the article it is better than my rambling.

4 responses to “Skinny People Habits

  1. Browsing the Atlas October 1, 2012 at 8:37 pm

    I can’t eat ala carte either. Guess that’s my problem. 🙂

  2. haveyourcakeand October 2, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    This is a really interesting article! I actually have read a few articles about how “slimmer/skinnier” people are more comfortable with the feeling of hunger, based on studies “rating” levels of hunger. I mean it is different for each person and also subjective but I definitely think they are hitting on something important!

  3. Sarah C October 11, 2012 at 8:28 am

    There’s a lot to be said for a boring diet – I have the same breakfast, lunch and pre-workout snack almost every day, with a little variation on dinner. Not only do I find myself not craving and/or overindulging in things I shouldn’t … it’s easy and I always know what my grocery bill will be 🙂

    • loseitbig October 11, 2012 at 8:34 am

      You are right about the grocery bill at least for me. I have cottage cheese, spinach, and tuna but, then the bill goes crazy trying to figure out what my picky eating kids will eat.

Leave a Reply

