Lose It Big

From losing to living

Kettlebell Kickin

Yesterday I started my kettlebell bootcamp and it kicked my butt. I used to think I was coordinated but, I struggled to do the kettlebell exercises correctly. I wanted to squat when I was supposed to hinge. I was lifting with my arms and not popping with my knees and hips. I will get better.  I was able to go home and study some You Tube videos on proper form. I just hate feeling like I have no clue what is going on. It’s a packed class too so, the instructor doesn’t have much time to work with me. However, I was lucky enough to be paired up with someone who knew what she was doing and was willing to help this old guy. I did work up a sweat and today my legs are sore. It’s the good sore that comes from muscles being used that don’t get used in the way that they we used (wow, that was confusing).

My bootcamp is Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  I didn’t plan this very well but, I also have a 5 mile race this Saturday.  I have a feeling my legs are going to be Jell-O by then.  During lunch yesterday, I was able to run 4 miles but, my delayed onset muscle soreness didn’t start up until now.  My plan is to run 6 miles at lunch today.  It will either help or hurt.  On the other hand I am excited about my run.  I get to have a run date with me wife.  The kids will be home with a babysitter.   The run is at a winery so at the end, we get to have wine….bonus.

I did take measurements prior to my bootcamp and I will post them on my Bootcamp page.  I will update the page with progress measurements and pictures about every two weeks.  I spared you a beginning picture for no other reason than I was too lazy.  People that read this have seen the pictures of me even after Captain Morgan.  Should I wear those same shorts in the progress pictures?

15 responses to “Kettlebell Kickin

  1. Kari October 2, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    the running date with your wife sounds great! not to mention the boozie ending..hehe. I’ve never tried the kettle bells so I wouldn’t know the first thing on good form. I wasn’t blessed with the best coordination so who knows who I would injure with one of those! Good luck with your bootcamp though..:)

  2. Main Street Musings Blog October 2, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    Love the idea of a “run date.” And the wine bonus! 🙂

  3. Rebecca @ Blueberry Smiles October 2, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    I need to try kettleballs…they intimidate me, but such a great workout!

  4. joyfitnessandstyle October 2, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    I wish I could join you! Training with kbells is different. Many exercises use momentum…remember to keep your spine straight and abs in to protect your lower back with most exercises. I’m such a broken record! Have fun and keep us posted on progress!!

  5. lethalastronaut October 2, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    I *adore* kettlebells – they’re just great fun to throw around 🙂 You’re going to have a ball doing this!

  6. ichoosetolivestronger October 2, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    My trainer dude has been helping me learn some kettle bell exercises. He says he likes them because you can work at least two different muscle groups with most exercises. But he says it takes research and/or training to do them right and so you don’t get injured. Good luck! Sounds great!

  7. daisy October 3, 2012 at 7:26 am

    Never tried kettlebells, seems like such strange/unfamiliar movements. A run date ending with wine sounds pretty good though, enjoy! 🙂

    • loseitbig October 3, 2012 at 7:41 am

      Thanks. So far kettlebells have made me sore. It’s the good sore but, it’s a killer on my legs and butt. I like the good sore in my chest but, maybe that will come later.

Leave a Reply

