Lose It Big

From losing to living

Race to Wine

Saturday evening I had the opportunity to run with my wife.  YIPPEE!  We had a busy cold day of the kids’ soccer and football games and then off to a local winery to run 5 miles.  Busy, busy.  The winery was packed with runners, walkers and fans.  Over 2000 people finished either the 5 mile run or the 5K run/walk.   I am really bad at picture taking.  I am at a very picturesque winery and I take three pictures.  Here we are before the race.

Before the Race and Wine

I told my wife that we would run together but, I guess I lied.  It is almost just as hard to slow my normal pace down as it is to speed up.  I am in no means a speedy runner but, it’s just something about races that gets my adrenaline going.  There were some decent size hills that caught my wife off guard.  They don’t seem to bug me as much and I felt really good running.  I was one of those guys that sped up and slowed down.  I know some of you know what I mean.  I would start running at my own pace and then start feeling guilty about leaving my wife.  So, I would go to the side and try to slow down while looking backwards to find her.  I repeated this a few times.  I ended up passing the same people maybe 4 times.  At about the 3 mile mark I told her I would meet her at the finish line.  It felt fun passing people but, it was also consuming tons of energy weaving in and out of people because at that time we were also meeting up with the 5K walkers.  I went from high 8 minute pace to a 7 minute pace.  I finished the run in 42 minutes and my wife finished at about 46 minutes.  In the end we were treated with a glass of wine.  We are not wine drinkers but the wine tasted good enough that we bought two bottles.

Hopefully, my wife will still run with me again because we have a planned run at the end of November.  It’s supposed to be flatter and I will try my best to steady my adrenaline.

 

10 responses to “Race to Wine

  1. ichoosetolivestronger October 9, 2012 at 11:43 am

    That’s a really good time. Congrats on finishing a great race! It’s always good to have someone with you. My hubby walked a 5K with me and was so supportive. Now you have to find another race to sign up for… 🙂

  2. joyfitnessandstyle October 9, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    I always enjoy your posts and humor, and I do understand your point, but… 🙂 U can always plan a race solo. If you are running with your wife, stay with her. Your a team!

  3. daisy October 10, 2012 at 6:44 am

    Aww you didn’t run with her?! You better run with her at the next one! I make my husband go slow with me 😛

  4. Kari October 10, 2012 at 8:16 am

    That is so great! sounds like you had an aweswome time..surely your wife will want to do this again. 🙂 well done!

  5. Cassy October 11, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    Awwah! That is awesome! =D I would definitely love to run a race with my husband at some point but he is a lot like you… he is a lot faster and will plow ahead!

Leave a Reply

