Lose It Big

From losing to living

Dazed and Confused

I originally said that I was going to update every two weeks with progress pictures and measurements.  I don’t think this is going to happen.  I have just finished week number two of my Kettlebell Bootcamp with mixed emotions.  Sometimes I am so lost trying to figure out what we are doing other times I am doing something that doesn’t seem to be doing anything.  I am in a class that probably accepted a dozen or so too many people.  Too many people have made it crowded and hard to hear the instructions.   Another thing that has made it tough for me is that it is a mixture of rookies (me) and experienced kettlebellers.  I am guessing this also makes the experienced ones a little upset when we have to do the “basic” training exercises when they want the “advanced” exercises.  The experienced ones also are supposed to help the rookies out.  I have been lucky enough to be paired up with a couple of good ones but they didn’t sign up to help me.  Sometimes we go to stations and I have no clue what to do or where to do them or for how long.  I am not giving up but, I hate this slow start.  I guess I was hoping I would wake up a little more sore.  I have been sore but not too bad.  My legs were sore but, I never really worked them that much besides running and running isn’t hitting the same muscles used in squats and lunges.

Another confusing part of the past two weeks is my weight.  Prior to KB camp I was running in the morning for about an hour (6-8 miles a day) and then I was weight training during my lunch break (30-45 minutes).   Change is good.  I know that.  I was told this kettlebell would easily take the place of both of those workouts.  In my mind I swapped the weights and runs now.  I do KB Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings and during my lunch I am running on the treadmill (only 30-45 minutes).  I am still trying to run every day.  My diet hasn’t changed much.  I am a simple person.  I eat the same thing for breakfast and lunch every day. My dinner changes some but, is still reasonable.  RAMBLE RAMBLE…I have gained 7 pounds in the last 2 weeks.

I really doubt I am adding 7 pounds of muscle.  Here are some things that have changed:

  1. I am only running 3-4 miles not 6-8.
  2. I have added Creatine Monohydrate.  This might make me retain water.
  3. My protein powder is a Whey Isolate, Casein, and Hydrolyzed Whey mixture.

Here is a question:  When you have going through Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness (DOMS), do you retain more water, and junk while your body is trying to rebuild the muscle?

Sorry about this long written post.  I doubt anyone will even get through all of my ramblings.  Maybe next week will be better.

17 responses to “Dazed and Confused

  1. Runs For Chocolate October 12, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    How much are you sweating compared to before? It reads like your workouts aren’t as intense (cardio-wise) so your weight isn’t going to be an accurate indicator of change. Those photos you mentioned (or measurements) are really the source of verifiable progress from week to week.

    The scale is easy to go to b/c it’s quantitative. But if you have dual priority goals of weight loss and muscle mass gain, the scale is obsolete and too short-term for both goals to coexist. Body fat readings and tape measurements are your best quantitative tools and progress photos and feelings as qualitative tools. …but they aren’t as easy as the scale. ….dammit. : (

    So sorry you’re frustrated. Prior to stepping on the scale and aside from the DOMS, did you “feel” stronger? Do you see more definition?

    • loseitbig October 12, 2012 at 1:06 pm

      I have been sweating a bunch but, I sweat a lot anyway. I know that scales aren’t the best but, 7 pounds in 2 weeks is a bit crazy.

  2. joyfitnessandstyle October 12, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC155510/
    Above is article in the journal of athletic training. It’s gotta be the creatine.

  3. One Fit Mama October 12, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    I haven’t stepped on a scale in months and months. I completely go by meaurements, progress pics and how my clothes fit.

    And I got the whole way through the post – always do. Keep smiling

    • loseitbig October 12, 2012 at 3:34 pm

      And your pictures are amazing. 2 weeks is a little hard for me to see anything but, my belt was getting tighter…not good. I am still active I will just wait this puppy out.

  4. ichoosetolivestronger October 12, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    Personally speaking the kettle bells are deceiving. My trainer has me doing two, sometimes three things on different days using KB’s now. They don’t SEEM like they are doing much, but they do. Sore is what you want..not hurting soreness. There is a difference. You shouldn’t feel pain in your quads going up and down the steps, but you should feel a tenderness…like you DID something. It has taken me months to understand this concept.

  5. daisy October 13, 2012 at 8:38 am

    I know nothing about kettlebells, but it sounds frustrating! Is there another class you could try with less people so you can learn better? It seems like the kind of thing you’d want to make sure you’re doing the right way. The weight gain would almost certainly be the creatine though, mostly water retention and hopefully a bit of muscle too!

  6. shapeupsamantha October 13, 2012 at 9:23 am

    Sorry to hear your disappointment! I can see why you’re frustrated though. Hang tough and hopefully it will get better! Maybe you’ll get a little more comfortable with what you’re doing and the scale will straighten out eventually. If it doesn’t work out that’s OK too, at least you can say you tried something new and move on to the next thing!

  7. Real Fit Mom November 7, 2012 at 11:31 am

    I read it all the way through! It sounds like they need to have 2 classes. :/ I have a kettlebell at home with a really cheesy DVD. When I give it my all it really is a good workout.

    Keep it up and soon you’ll be the one helping the rookies!

Leave a Reply

