Lose It Big

From losing to living

Phase 1

Kettlebell Workout – 6 minutes each exercise (40 seconds on 20 seconds off)

  1. Squats
  2. Snatch (20 seconds per arm)
  3. Figure 8 Swings
  4. Press (20 seconds per arm)
  5. Swings

I used a 25 pound kettlebell for the first 5 minutes then used a 35 pounder the last one.

Finisher – 5 minutes each

  1. Battling Ropes
  2. Assorted Abs

I am just about done with the first phase of my “diet”.  My boys call it a diet because we wouldn’t go out to eat at BW3’s and didn’t have any fun stuff to eat during the Super Bowl.  To me it really isn’t a diet.  This program follows a low glycemic index food type of eating which in turns to be my normal way of eating.  I have stayed honest and not had any sugar and other types of bad carbs.  That is where the word “diet” really comes into play.  When I know I am to follow a strict guideline I don’t cheat.  Normally, I would have eaten that last bite of corn dog or would have had a cup of the kids’ sugar, fat, and fruit loaded smoothie they made for the game.  Now I just threw it away.  Since I am doing this with my wife, we both said no.

Along with this diet we are supposed to workout 10 days straight to go along with the low GI foods.  Again, this is not really new to me except I usually take Sunday off.  Sundays are my days to get caught up on laundry and a little (very little) house cleaning.  Since I am following a “Totally Fit Life” program, I dug out one of my Insanity videos.  Again, this kicked my butt.  A perfect photo op of me dying in a soaking wet shirt.  I am a horrible picture taking person.  When I weigh in after my 1st phase, I promise to post a picture just in case you forgot what my ugly mug looks like.

12 responses to “Phase 1

  1. erinHasThoughts February 4, 2013 at 11:15 am

    This sounds awesome! I’m getting back on the horse here too…so i’ll be doing a post! Can’t wait to hear more, and see your progress pics! Keep up the great work!

    • loseitbig February 4, 2013 at 3:09 pm

      It’s about time you jump back on, you world traveler, oenophile. LOL on the progress pics.

      • erinHasThoughts February 4, 2013 at 3:14 pm

        ok, i just had to look up “oenophile” lol I thought you were insulting me for a hot minute! haha I know I’ve COMPLETELY gone off track and legit haven’t worked out AT ALL in 2013 (besides hiking)….what a fatty i’ve become! I’m going to get back into it though – Wednesday, actually! I’m going to be back at my bootcamp and can’t wait! -sorry i doubt i’ll be posting any “progress pics”, but who knows…maybe i’ll change my mind! 🙂

      • loseitbig February 4, 2013 at 3:26 pm

        I have never heard of the word. I had to look it up too. I am glad you didn’t get insulted by it before looking it up. If I can put put pictures up here, so can you….:) our own challenge

      • erinHasThoughts February 4, 2013 at 3:28 pm

        bahh….we’ll see…no promises! I changed one of the things on my bucket list from “do another round of p90x” to “complete 3 consecutive months of 5 days a week of bootcamp”. You have inspired me to go back to my trusty old bootcamp on account of your kettlebell workouts! I figure its basically the same…but better since i’m paying a buttload of money for it…which ensures i will NEVER skip! haha So Feb i’m just doing 2 days a week so that I can get back in shape where I want to be, and then March, April, May – balls to the wall, 5 days a week! whoop!

  2. Malin February 4, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    That is great… I find that after a while you don’t even miss the carbs and when you do try that chocolate cake it is just too sweet…looking forward to see your progress!

  3. Rebecca @ Blueberry Smiles February 6, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    I agree with you on wanting to eat healthy without calling it a diet– that word makes me want to rebel toO!

  4. shapeupsamantha February 6, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    Sounds like your diet is going well. Can’t wait to see your results!

  5. fitbit8 February 7, 2013 at 11:03 pm

    I nominated you for the very inspirational blogger award! http://fitbit8.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/the-very-inspi…-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

