Lose It Big

From losing to living

Dead Lifts

This morning’s workout was going great until my coach saw me doing my dead lifts.  He told me I was rounding my back.  I need to keep my chest up, shoulders back and keep my back straight or I would hurt my lower back.  I thought I was doing that so, I concentrated on doing what he said and BAM! There went my lower back.  I have always had problems with my lower back.  I can’t even sleep  in my Sleep Number Bed without waking up with my back hurting but, my nights sleeping on the couch is fine…go figure.  On a side note my wife probably likes I am not sleeping with her.  I wandered off topic.  I do not doubt my form for my dead lifts were bad but, I think I concentrate on my core to protect my back.  When I switched to try to concentrate on other things the coach told me, I guess I forgot to protect my back.  So, now I am trying to keep my back from stiffening up.  That is hard to do when I sit in front of my computer all day.  I have a Thermacare HeatWrap on now and keep getting up to stretch.  I hope it won’t keep me from working out.

I follow a lot of blogs that show pictures of some awesome food.  I always say I am going to try to make it but, I rarely do.  Why?   I really hate cleaning up.  I have no problem making stuff.  I like to cook but, I just really don’t like cleaning dishes especially when there are dishes in the drying rack already.  I go to the extreme on this.  I try not to take the last bit of leftovers in the fridge.  Why?  Because if I take the last bit I will have to wash the dish that it was being stored in.  See, I am bad.   But if I get my wife to make something, I am totally devouring it.  I even help make it.  Brings me to what we made over the weekend.  She made pancakes.  We are trying to eat better – no sugar, no white flour, no white bread, the bad white stuff yada, yada, yada.  These pancakes were from a pin on Pinterest…she is becoming an addict.  I can’t remember the recipe exactly but it was something like:

  • 1 C – rolled oats
  • 1 C – fat free cottage cheese
  • 6 – egg whites
  • Sugar
  • Vanilla
  • Cinnamon

Put those in a blender and blend until smooth.

Wow.  I wanted to use these as buns for my chicken breasts or my tilapia fillets.  I ended up putting peanut butter on them and eating them that way.  I was totally shocked at how much they really tasted like pancakes.  I wanted to add some protein powder to it but found out these were already high in protein with some good fiber to boot.  My next post might be exactly what I eat every day.  Hint…no pancakes.  I am pretty boring.

7 responses to “Dead Lifts

  1. Joy March 1, 2013 at 10:06 am

    Hope your back feels better soon. I love cottage cheese pancakes, but never had them with oats. Did you put milk in them too? I’m going to find that recipe.

  2. Bezzymates March 1, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    Hope your back feels better soon. Give it some days rest, some TLC a little soak in an Epsom salts bath. Back problems are the worse. Yeah, love eating my hubby’s cooking. Cleaning and prepping, not so much.

  3. Morgan March 2, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    bummer 😦 Hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

