Lose It Big

From losing to living

Banana + Eggs = Pancakes (huh?)

That is what I first said after talking to my workout buddy.  We were thinking of going to a pancake house after our Saturday workout when I mentioned the oatmeal cottage cheese pancakes.  He said he likes those but, when he is pressed on time he goes for banana and eggs.  That isn’t what comes into my mind when I think of pancakes but, I will try anything once or five times.  This was easy to make you simply smash one banana completely.  Then you add 3 eggs.  I threw in some cinnamon too.  You mix those all together and then pour a small amount into a hot pan.  Let it set for a couple of minutes and then flip.  My first try I didn’t let it set long enough or the pan wasn’t hot enough.  I should have taken pictures of these but, I kind of ate them while I cooked them…whoops.  I am not good with pictures.  Who would have thought eggs and bananas together could make some sort of yummy, bready texture thing that can be eaten like pancakes?  One of these days I am going to save some pancakes and use them as a bun to make a chicken or fish sandwich.  Have a good week everyone.

16 responses to “Banana + Eggs = Pancakes (huh?)

  1. Casie March 4, 2013 at 9:52 am

    Interesting, I never would think that either!

  2. Megan March 4, 2013 at 9:55 am

    I do these all the time! I like to add different nut butters and figs too! Yum!

  3. erinHasThoughts March 4, 2013 at 11:35 am

    i’m totally trying this!!

  4. roundtoravishing March 4, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    Anything banana is always good 🙂

  5. One Fit Mama March 4, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    mmmm bananas! I’d go for any kid of pancake or fruit right now!

    I have a little known trick of freezing sliced bananas in the morning and then putting them through the blender with a scoop of protein powder – makes icecream without the cream!

    • loseitbig March 4, 2013 at 3:53 pm

      Right now just stick with the eggs…after your experiment you can hop on the banana (that didn’t sound right) pancake. It wasn’t like the bananas were sprinkled into the batter…it was the batter was the banana and egg. Just kind of weird. I have read about your ice cream. If I wasn’t so lazy about cleaning the blender I would have already tried it.

      • One Fit Mama March 4, 2013 at 4:25 pm

        LMAO
        I needed that giggle

        No eggs today. Keeping sodium almost nonexistent. Chicken and more chicken yuck

  6. bezzymates March 4, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    Sounds like an interesting combo. Must give it a try.

  7. L @ Trying Not to be Fat March 4, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    I’ve seen these all over instagram I’ve been meaning to try them!!

  8. leannenalani March 5, 2013 at 9:21 pm

    Funny, I saw that recipe last week and bought the ingredients for it. I’m waiting for my bananas to get overripe before I make the pancakes. They sound good!

  9. fitterstrongerbetter March 6, 2013 at 8:21 am

    I love making these ‘pancakes’ if you want them to set a bit firmer, try putting some protein powder in and use 2 eggs instead of 3 – that’s what I do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

