Lose It Big

From losing to living

Spring Break

After the 9 inches and counting of snow we are getting here in Indiana, I am ready to head to Florida.  What I am not ready for is the 15 to 16 hour drive with three kids.  Anyone want to guess how long into the trip the question of “Are we there yet?” gets asked?  Like father like kids, their attention span is pretty much non-existent.  I just hope that staying with my in-laws in their small condo won’t dampen my our vacation.  Normally, my ideal location in Florida would be a place right on the beach.  To get to a beach we will have to drive about an hour.   With kids at various ages, I like the freedom of hanging out at the beach but if they get bored we can go back to the condo or pool.  We will not have that luxury but, we WILL still have fun.

Another thing I will miss is the local restaurants, the ones on the beach that have fun names and stores where you can buy shirts. I hope to drive to one at least once or twice.  I guess the positive thing about that is that I might actually force myself to eat close to normal most of the time.

The retirement community, where we will be, does have a nice exercise room.  I am not sure I will have access to it since I will be a guest but, I hope I can use it.  I know I will need some time away so, hopefully, it’s the gym and some running.

Whatever happens I get to sport my new swimsuit.  It’s a good thing the suit is not the speedo bikini type.  I am not sure the retired people would be ok with that but, everyone needs a good laugh and why not laugh at me?

8 responses to “Spring Break

  1. Joy March 25, 2013 at 9:27 pm

    You WILL have fun…and some stories! Can’t wait to hear them!!

  2. savvyq March 26, 2013 at 12:32 am

    I just did a 4 hour trip with only 1 kid and I was ready to pull my hair out!! But it will be worth it! Have fun and soak up that sun!

  3. leannenalani March 26, 2013 at 5:01 pm

    Have fun on your vaca! Long drive, but I’m sure it will be worth it.

  4. lethalastronaut March 27, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    I couldn’t handle a trip that long – I’d have two dead bodies in the ack (the kids) and a suicide (me!) before we got there! Kudos to you!

    You *can* eat pretty close to normal no matter where you are – it’s just harder some places than others. With me, I find my parents’ place a challenge. My mother is one of those “are you sure you’ve had enough? Won’t you have another slice / piece / bite?” types. It’s difficult. I just have to remind myself that eating more than I need won’t make me happy (it’ll make me miserable when I see the scale) and, despite what it might seem, it won’t make her happy either.

    Have a great trip, and bring back memories, not pounds! I’m sure you will!

    • loseitbig March 28, 2013 at 7:26 am

      I don’t go on trips too much. So, one of the things I like is eating things I normally don’t eat. Eating normal doesn’t factor into my food choices when I am on vacation. But if I can’t go out to eat while on vacation I will probably eat like a normally do (rabbit food and baked chicken or fish). I have always told myself that I eat and exercise the way I do now so I can go all in when I am on vacation.

Leave a Reply

