Lose It Big

From losing to living

WOW #2

I have been slacking in my running department lately.  This has to do with me wanting to lift more weights, loving the calf burn from 30 minutes on an elliptical, and just not wanting to run on a treadmill.  Yesterday was gorgeous outside so; I figured I could catch some rays and burn some calories.  I ran almost 5 miles in 45 minutes.  My legs felt like they were full of lead when I stopped running and to think I almost bought a bib to run a 13.1 miler this weekend…so glad I didn’t do that.  I thought I would be able to pick up right where I stopped about a month or two ago.  I feel I am good shape but, maybe starting at 13 miles is a little asinine.

We just got our workout of the week (WOW) from coach.

WOW #2
10 push ups
20 reverse lunges (10 right / 10 left)
30 mountain climbers (total)

Complete as many rounds as possible in 20 minutes.  Your total score is the number of complete rounds plus the number of reps completed of the exercise you ended on. Example: 7 complete rounds plus 15 reverse lunges.

This made me sweat.  I am not sure how I stack up against everyone else but, seeing as I was dripping wet, it must have been a good workout.  I was able to to do 14 complete rounds plus 25 mountain climbers.  So, close to 15.

Left my sweat in the floor.

Left my sweat on the floor.

8 responses to “WOW #2

  1. thetummy2yummy May 1, 2013 at 4:08 pm

    Must admit, I’ve been neglecting my running recently too – I’m quite happy to use the cross (angry) trainer but there is nothing quite like running to burn those fat cells – ugh!!! Glad to see someone else sweats at the gym, always amazes me how much make-up is worn and stays put!!! Not on this face, I’d be put in the zoo and forced to eat bamboo shoots if I did!!!

    • loseitbig May 1, 2013 at 7:09 pm

      I heard on the radio the other morning that girls that wore make up to the gym burn 20% less calories. I have no idea if it is true or not but, makes me not want to wear any.

      • thetummy2yummy May 2, 2013 at 6:00 am

        Grins, I would think its true, why would you work so hard that your make-up would run? Not to mention all that icky stuff going in all your pores as you sweat ugh! Nope, I’ll leave my make-up for more appropriate times lol!!! Great blog enjoying the read 🙂

  2. lethalastronaut May 1, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    Hehe…lookit that sweat! Good for you! 🙂

  3. Eating at my Desk May 5, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    I’m not missing running (with broken foot) but do miss the caloric burns. When I get clearance to not wear the shoe cast thingie I’m almost afraid to try and run again — though power walking was the culprit– maybe I have brittle bones, or I was just too damn fat to be running. But point is mostly that, like you noted, there are other things to do to burn cals.

    Congrats on the WOW’s and …. what can I say besides gross? Nice sweat?

  4. Two Moms May 6, 2013 at 12:56 pm

    Crazy how fast you can lose it when you dont keep running. I have really struggled to get back into my running game. Great WOW. Way to go. I dont think I could do that many

    • loseitbig May 6, 2013 at 2:04 pm

      Thanks for dropping back by. I know you could do it. It was kind of a long one. Close to more mental than anything else. As long as my coach tweets one I will post it up here along with my time/rounds or however we count. I challenge you to beat me. (I know you like challenges) Congrats again!

Leave a Reply

